Uncategorized

PR Contest: Baby Girl Plans

My little one is 7 months old.  She just cut her first tooth on Monday and has been up at least 3-7 times a night the last week. I have not been getting up at 6 am to sew the last two weeks because of this.  I am determined to get up tomorrow morning though.  My goal for this weekend is to have everything cut out so for the last three weeks in August I can sew, sew, sew in the mornings.

With that being said here are my plans for the girl child.  She wears a size 9-12 month in RTW so I am going to be making size medium or 1/2 depending on the pattern sizing.  I was a little ambitious when planning my makes and have narrowed my choices down to three with her, with a back up if I get finished in time.

#1 is Simplicity  7239, a vintage pattern, not sure of the year.63a487a23b38ec98e5ddca826059fea2

I will be making view F, showed in yellow on the pattern.  I have already cut this pattern out.  I used a vintage floral that I am pretty sure I got from a Goodwill haul and a yellow gingham for the ruffles and the pants.  You can’t see it but the shorts have two rows of ruffles on the back side.  Too cute, so excited about my fabric choice.

#2 is McCall’s pattern 7342, view B minus the rick-rack.  I don’t like rick-rack on many things.  d5cbb03acda66c09f38ceca0989d6c32

I am going to use these two prints by Michael Miller, 1 and 2.  Although they are not from the same collection the colors match perfectly.  I would really like to make the hat too, but will not have enough fabric left over.

#3 is the only pattern I plan on using for both kids.  It’s Simplicity 1473.  I plan on making the short sleeve dress for her.  This pattern range is from 1/2 to size 4.  The 1/2 is equivalent to a size 9/12 month.  I am going to use a remnant fabric from a previous make from 2013.  It’s a mushroom print on cream background from JoAnn.  106c48060235d54283541b54eeb4bef1

I plan on using a solid orange scrap for the contrast hood and sleeve band.  I don’t especially care for the pocket, and since she doesn’t know what a pocket is, I don’t feel guilty for leaving it off.

My ,if I get everything done and have time for one more, back up choice is Simplicity 1170.  View A minus the overlay on the skirt.  I have two fabrics from Hobby Lobby that I am sure are on trend and will work for the styling of the pattern.  The knit bodice will be a knit with gold arrows on an off white background, the skirt portion is an Aztec print on Corduroy.  I’m not quite sure if I want to make this right now, or wait until she’s older and make it later.  I could always just make it in a size bigger and wait until she grows into it.  The pattern sizes are 1/2 to 4.

Up next I will probably review a few patterns and show off some makes.

Kind wishes to you and yours,

Michelle

 

 

Leave a Reply

